European Academy of Sciences and Arts
Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europaea


The European Academy of Sciences and Arts is the result of a long maturation process. Its development began in 1985 with a working group in Salzburg, and concluded with the founding of the Academy by its three architects: Heart surgeon Felix Unger of Salzburg, the former archbishop of Vienna, Franz Cardinal König, and the political scientist and philosopher Nikolaus Lobkowicz.

With his vision of an academy, Felix Unger aimed for a clearly-defined goal: With the help of a dense network of European scientists and artists, the problems and questions facing Europe should be examined from different perspectives and ultimately answered.

Unger always had an interest in other scientific fields and therefore saw the opportunity for a mutual exchange of ideas with colleagues. Moreover, he hoped to contribute to a positive development of European societies and cultures. This approach was shaped in his early years by his parents and grandparents, who had taught him to respect people of different religions and philosophies and to seek dialogue with those holding opinions different to his own.

Since the mid-80s, Unger and Cardinal König held regular meetings with renowned scientists from Vienna, Munich, Innsbruck and Salzburg. For König, the question of ethics in science was particularly in the foreground: He regarded ethics as the reflection of reason with regard to human action - not just the differentiation between right and wrong, but between good and bad, between positive and negative values.

Cardinal König    also held the opinion that the differentiation of academic fields and research was a risk. From his point of view, the differentiation of specialized knowledge and terminology would make communication more difficult as well as preventing the view of the whole: This whole was more to him than just the sum of various fields.

In the course of the meetings in Salzburg, Unger and König decided to institutionalize the dialogue. They recognized the need for a new academy, which should take into account mankind's changing conceptualization of the world while also considering the transformation of the meaning of science: Topics relevant to society should be dealt with vividly and in an interdisciplinary, transnational way.

In 1988, Cardinal König introduced Felix Unger to the political philosopher and later president of the Catholic University of Eichstätt, Nikolaus Lobkowicz. It wasn't necessary to convince Lobkowicz of the benefits of an academy - he was enthusiastic from the beginning.

Nikolaus Lobkowicz had sought for possibilities to stem the decline in values which he saw in Europe. He realized that this challenge called for representatives of all disciplines - philosophers and historians, scientists and engineers. With the European Academy of Sciences and Arts he saw a way to convince its members and thereby science as a whole to do more joint research in this direction. An academy with competent international members could tackle the decisive problems of Europe and meet its pioneering role.

The connection, which resulted from personal motives and reasons of these three persons finally proved to be the perfect foundation for establishing an academy. The goal was achieved on March 7, 1990: The European Academy of Sciences and Arts was founded.

Founding Members

Salzburg, March 7th, 1990

Adam Dieter, Munich † Meitinger Otto, Munich
Andreae Clemens-August, Innsbruck † Menzel Christian, Salzburg
Bauer Günther G., Salzburg Morel Julius, Innsbruck †
Berger Alterzbischof Karl, Mattsee † Mortier Gérard, Paris †
Berger Albert, Klagenfurt Müller Lothar, Munich
Berner Peter, Paris † Ottmann Henning, Munich
Brücke Peter, Linz Pachinger Otmar, Innsbruck
Bühler Wilhelm, Vienna Peichl Gustav, Vienna
Bürkle Horst, Starberg Peter Klaus, Munich
Cernusca Alexander, Innsbruck Precht Manfred, Freising
Chen John-ren, Innsbruck Rastetter Johann Wolfgang, Munich
Deutsch Manfred, Vienna Repgen Konrad, Bonn
Diemath Hans Erich, Salzburg Ritschel Karl Heinz, Salzburg
Eder Rudolf, Vienna † Rotter Hans, Innsbruck
Ehrlenspiel Klaus, Munich Sandhofer Friedrich, Salzburg
Eibl-Eibesfeldt Irenäus, Andechs Schmidtke Heinz, Garching †
Falise Michel, Lille Schmölz Franz Martin, Salzburg †
Felten Florens, Salzburg Schwandt Peter, Munich
Finsterwalder Ottokarl, Vienna † Schwarz Helmut, Vienna
Fischer Michael W., Salzburg † Spaemann Robert, Munich
Franz Chlodwig, Vienna Spängler Johan Wolfgang, Munich
Friedrich Heinz, Munich † Spann Wolfgang, Munich †
Gneuss Helmut, Munich Stierstadt Klaus, Munich
Gornik Erich, Vienna Stremitzer Heinrich, Lienz †
Grötzbach Erich, Eichstätt † Szczypiorski Andzej, Warsaw †
Grün Oskar, Vienna Thurau Klaus, Munich
Haas Hans-Dieter, Gröbenzell Trümper Joachim, Garching
Hepp Hermann, Munich Unger Carl, Vienna †
Hippius Hanns, Munich Weinmann Hans-Martin, Strasslach
Hofstädter Ferdinand, Regensburg Wetzels Egon, Bernau †
Jeglitsch Franz, Leoben Wilhelm Klaus, Munich
Kenner Thomas, Graz Winnacker Ernst-Ludwig, Munich
Landesmann Hans, Salzburg † Wozniakowski Jacek, Kraków †
Lesch Otto Michel, Vienna Ziegler Hubert, Munich †
Marko Hans, Gräfelfing