European Academy of Sciences and Arts
Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europaea

Prize of Tolerance


A major project of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts concerns “Tolerance”. The Academy has been awarding the Prize of Tolerance since 1997 to individuals or institutes who are committed to tolerance, humanity, interdisciplinary and transnational dialogue as well as anti-racism. In 2015 the Academy awarded the Prize to the International Olympic Comité for their promotion of tolerance by uniting different nations and cultures.


„The annual Prize of Tolerance has the function of contributing to the awareness in society as well as promoting a tolerant and peaceful coexistence of humans and cultures. A glance at the world shows the significance of practicing tolerance on a daily basis.”

President of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts

Prof. Dr. Dr.h.c. Felix Unger



Laureates 1997-2015

1997 - Teddy Kollek †, Jerusalem
1998 - Suzanne Mubarak, Cairo
1999 - Franz Cardinal König †, Vienna
2000 - International Red Cross and Red Crescent, Geneva
2002 - Dorothea Rosenblad, Stockholm
2003 - Djibrail Kassab, Basra
2005 - Giandomenico Picco, New York
2006 - Hans-Dietrich Genscher †, Bonn
2007 - Flavio Cotti, Brione sopra Minusio
2008 - Eugen Biser †, Munich
2009 - Klaus Töpfer, Höxter
2010 - Karl Cardinal Lehmann, Mainz
2011 - Daniel Barenboim, Buenos Aires
2013 - Fr. Pedro Opeka, Antananarivo
2015 - International Olympic Committee, Lausanne
2016 - Roland Riz, Bozen